Mailing List Archive: 49091 messages
  • Home
  • Script library
  • AltME Archive
  • Mailing list
  • Articles Index
  • Site search

[REBOL] REBOL nominated for Webby in technical achievement

From: carl:rebol at: 8-May-2002 12:19

The Webby Awards, the leading international honors for Web sites, today nominated REBOL for a Webby Award in the category of Technical Achievement of 2002. (Google and Sony also nominated.) Hailed by The Wall Street Journal as a celebration of "sites that pave important paths to the Internet's next phase," The Webby Awards are determined by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, a diverse, 350-person organization whose membership film director Francis Ford Coppola, musicians David Bowie and Beck, cyberguru Esther Dyson, CEO of Real Networks Rob Glaser, Chef Julia Child, and Electronic Frontier Foundation Founder John Perry Barlow. The Webby Awards showcase the best of what the Internet has to offer in terms of innovation, creativity and originality, said Maya Draisin, Executive Director of The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences. "REBOL's nomination for a Webby Award is a testament to its great contributions in pushing the Internet envelope." The Sixth Annual Webby Awards will take place this year on Tuesday, June 18, 2002 at San Francisco's magnificent Legion of Honor. As a nominee for a Webby Award, REBOL is also eligible to win a People's Voice Award. Voting is open to the public from April 29 to June 7th at People's Voice Award winners will be announced on during the The Webby Awards Ceremony on June 18, 2002. It is a great honor for REBOL to be nominated for a Webby Award, said Carl Sassenrath, REBOL's founder. "This nomination puts us among the best of the best on the Net." The Webby Awards is the leading international honors for consumer Web sites and individual achievement in technology and creativity. The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences selects the nominees, winners, and presents the awards event. Sponsors for The Sixth Annual Webby Awards include SBC, International Data Group (IDG), Getty Images, The Creative Group and Elias Arts. Balloting is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers. In partnership with Nielsen//NetRatings, the Webby Awards has three new awards, where sites will be honored based on traffic to sites using Nielsen//NetRatings Internet audience measurement data. For more information visit The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences is dedicated to the creative, technical, and professional progress of the Internet and evolving forms of interactive media. The Academy's goal is to assemble a brilliant panel of leading new media experts, visionaries, journalists, and luminaries to propel the Internet and Interactive Technology into the future. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes over 350 members such as film director Francis Ford Coppola, musician Bjork, Chairman of Miramax Talk Media Tina Brown, cyberguru Esther Dyson, creator of "The Simpsons" Matt Groening, Public Radio International Personality Ira Glass, and Oracle Chairman Larry Ellison. Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Forbes, Details, Fast Company, Elle, The Los Angeles Times, Vibe, and WallPaper. For more information, visit